Communities and Social Networks OUA Conference 2014

OK, it’s not quite about making animation, but it is a big part of what animation is used for nowadays. The World Wide Web has animation scattered throughout its hyperlinked pages, from simple banner advertising to sophisticated short animated films.

One stop along the way is, what are commonly called MMORPGs, Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Player Games, such as World of Warcraft, StarCraft, Final Fantasy and Runecraft. In such arenas as these people can band together and create communities and social networks. Which, oddly enough, is the theme for the conference which I’d like to invite everyone to.

The Fifth Annual Communities and Social Networks Conference, is presented by  the Department of Internet Studies at Curtin University in partnership with Open Universities Australia.

Running from 28 April to 18 May 2014, this conference looks at various aspects of online communities and social networks, and how they affect people both online and offline.

Visitors to the conference are invited to read and comment on these papers and join the debates.

The conference can also be followed on Twitter @CSNC2014

In case you’re wondering . . . Yes, I have a paper in the conference and I’m looking forward to hearing your point of view about it!

MMORPGs: Designer Addictions

See you there!



About Fionabc

I’m Fionabc, an ordinary person living in a country town in Australia and travelling the world via my computer. I enjoy meeting people on my travels, sharing news and generally enjoying being a member of the ‘global village’ the Internet allows us to be. In my offline life, I spend time with my family and enjoy cross-stitch and crochet, especially when the cats leave the threads alone. When they don’t, I grit my teeth and tell myself “it’s a type of puzzle,” and “I enjoy untangling puzzles.” One day, I might even solve it!
This entry was posted in BA Internet Communication and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

